New California Carbon Monoxide Law

A residential smoke detector is the most famil...
Image via Wikipedia

New Law —  SB183 enacts the California Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act of 2010

This law requires a carbon monoxide device (battery or hard-wired) to be installed in a “dwelling unit intended for human occupancy.”

A violation is punishable by a maximum fine of $200 for each offense.

Owners of residential rental property must also comply with this law. Tenants are responsible to notify the owner of an inoperable or deficient carbon monoxide device.

Installation Time Period:

  • On or before July 1, 2011 for existing single-family dwelling units
  • On or before Jan. 1, 2013 for all other existing dwelling units

From what we can see it looks like the better and more reliable ones are in the $30 range according to the reviews. The less expensive ones (less than $25) seem to have more bad reviews (false alarms, lots of chirping, etc.).

Here are some different types and prices for you to compare –

Home Depot:

  • Universal Security Instruments 2 Photo electric 9 volt operated Smoke & Fire Alarms – $34.99 eachKidde Battery Operated Voice Alert Carbon Monoxide and smoke alarm – $36.97 each (also as Lowe’s)
  • First Alert Combination Photoelectric Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice and location – $36.97 each (also as Lowe’s)

Amazon:

  • Kidde KN-COSM-B Battery-Operated Combination Carbon Monoxide and Smoke Alarm with Talking Alarm – $29.99
  • First Alert SC05CN Battery Operated Combination Carbon Monoxide/Smoke Alarm – $28.75

For the text of this law go to http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/09-10/bill/asm/ab_0151-0200/ab_183_bill_20100325_chaptered.html

Pat Chadwell
408-927-6565 x 11

Enhanced by Zemanta